Baylor College of Medicine

Clinical excellence by faculty honored at award ceremony

Dana Benson


Houston, TX -

A group of Baylor College of Medicine faculty members were recognized for excellence in patient care at the Faculty Awards Day ceremony May 18.

“Our faculty are leaders in patient care, and we’re pleased to be able to honor them through various awards that recognize their outstanding efforts,” said Dr. Paul Klotman, president, CEO and executive dean at Baylor College of Medicine.


The awards included the Ben and Margaret Love Foundation Bobby Alford Award for Academic Clinical Professionalism, presented to Dr. Barbara Trautner, associate professor of surgery and medicine and director of clinical research for the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery.

The Love Award is bestowed annually to Baylor physicians who best exemplify the trait of professionalism in the practice of medicine.

Other clinical awards included the Early Career Award for Excellence in Patient Care for faculty with two to five years of service as a Baylor faculty member, the Star Award for Excellence in Patient Care for faculty with at least six years of service and the Master Clinician Award for Excellence in Patient Care for faculty with at least 15 years of service.

These awards were established by Klotman to recognize faculty for their exemplary qualities of clinical excellence and expertise, consistent high level of patient care, professionalism, commendable leadership skills and continuous service to the community.

Recipients of the Master Clinician Award were Dr. Carlos Bacino, Dr. Alvin Blaustein, Dr. Creighton Edwards, Dr. William Fisher, Dr. Ellen Friedman, Dr. Edmond Gonzales, Dr. David Graham, Dr. Stephen Greenberg, Dr. Carolina Gutierrez, Dr. Silvia Orengo-Nania, Dr. James Pool, Dr. Michael Speer, Dr. Matthew Wall, Dr. David Wesson and Dr. Edward Young.

See a full list of the Early Career and Star Award recipients.

The Graduating Class Outstanding Faculty Award was presented by fourth-year medical student Chloe Nunneley to Dr. Uma Ayyala, Dr. Andrew Caruso, Dr. Francis Gannon, Dr. Joseph Kass and Dr. Zaven Sargsyan.


Photo Gallery


See more pictures from the awards ceremony.

Back to topback-to-top