Baylor College of Medicine

Faculty celebrated as outstanding educational leaders

Dana Benson


Houston, TX -

Baylor College of Medicine faculty members were honored as outstanding educators at the Faculty Awards Day ceremony, held Thursday, May 18, in the College’s Cullen Auditorium.

“This is a great day for Baylor College of Medicine, because we have the opportunity to recognize and celebrate the exceptional educational leaders at our institution,” said Dr. Paul Klotman, president, CEO and executive dean at Baylor College of Medicine.


Presidential Awards

Established in 1999, the Barbara and Corbin J. Robertson Jr. Presidential Award for Excellence in Education recognizes faculty members who have made long-standing, consistent and highly valued contributions to the educational mission of the College. Recipients become members of the Baylor Society of Presidential Educators and receive a crystal award and $10,000.

The 2017 recipients of the Robertson Presidential Award were Dr. Anita Deswal, professor of medicine – cardiology and associate chief of cardiology at the Michael E. DeBakey Veteran Affairs Medical Center, and Dr. Anne Gill, associate professor of pediatrics.

McGovern Awards

The McGovern Teaching Awards were established in 1986 and are determined by second-, third- and fourth-year medical students and based on outstanding teaching of clinical and pre-clinical medical school curriculum. The nominees are approved by the Faculty Awards Committee.

The 2017 recipients of the John P. McGovern Outstanding Teaching Award are Dr. Tyson Pillow, associate professor of emergency medicine and emergency medicine residency director, for Foundational Sciences, and Dr. Zaven Sargsyan, assistant professor of medicine for Clinical Sciences.

Clark Faculty Service Award

Established this year, this award honors faculty members whose exemplary service, with professionalism, has not previously been recognized through an official award by the College. Recipients represent their professions and Baylor’s mission, vision and values at the highest level, and have made significant, enduring contributions to the College.

Recipients for 2017 are Dr. Mary Dickinson, professor and Kyle and Josephine Morrow Endowed Chair of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics; Dr. Joslyn Fisher, associate professor of medicine, Dr. Mothaffar Rimawi, associate professor in the Lester and Sue Smith Breast Center; and Dr. Faye Tan, professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation.

Norton Rose Fulbright Faculty Excellence Awards

The Norton Rose Fulbright Faculty Excellence Awards provide an opportunity for Baylor faculty who meet designated standards of quality, quantity and breadth to receive recognition for their sustained exemplary educational contributions across all areas of the College. They are presented in four specialty areas – teaching and evaluation, development of enduring educational materials, educational leadership, and educational research.

See the full list of Norton Rose Fulbright award winners.


Photo Gallery


See more pictures from the awards ceremony.

Back to topback-to-top