Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

McLean Lectures


The McLean Lecture series were inaugurated in 1972 by Distinguished Service Professor and Chair Emeritus, Salih J. Wakil, in honor of an outstanding Texas family for their generous support of the department. Verna and Marrs McLean shared a philosophy of civic and humanitarian responsibility and a keen commitment to education.

Although the McLean's were personally generous and supported many philanthropic causes, they believed that their greatest contribution was to set an example that encouraged others to make equally strong commitments. This tradition has been maintained by their children and grandchildren, as exemplified by the recent endowment of the Ruth McLean Bowman Bowers Professorship, which will support a new faculty member in the department.


The 47th Annual McLean Lectures


We are working on scheduling the current lecture series. See past lectures.


Nobel Laureates


Nobel Laureates of the Verna and Marrs McLean Lectures in Biochemistry

  • Paul Berg
  • Hans Adolf Krebs
  • Bengt I. Samuelsson
  • Walter Gilbert
  • Francis Harry Compton Crick
  • Arthur Kornberg
  • Salvador E. Luria
  • D. Carleton Gajdusek
  • George E. Palade
  • Sydney Brenner
  • J. Michael Bishop
  • James Dewey Watson
  • Thomas R. Cech
  • Aaron Klug
  • David Baltimore
  • Max Ferdinand Perutz
  • Joseph L. Goldstein
  • Michael S. Brown
  • Sir Paul M. Nurse
  • Phillip A. Sharp
  • Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard
  • Richard Axel
  • Harold E. Varmus
  • Leland H. Hartwell
  • Martin Rodbell
  • H. Robert Horvitz
  • Mario R. Capecchi
  • Robert J. Lefkowitz
  • Peter C. Agre
  • Eric F. Wieschaus
  • Jack W. Szostak
  • Roger Y. Tsien
  • Brian K. Kobilka
  • Randy Schekman
  • Richard Henderson
  • Jennifer Doudna