## Nominations requested for 2022 Texas D-CFAR Trainee and Early-Stage Investigator Research Awards

Members of the Texas Developmental Center for AIDS Research (D-CFAR) are invited to submit nominations for the annual *Janet Butel, PhD. HIV Research Trainee Award* and *the Robert Lanford, PhD. Research Early-Stage Investigator Award*. Recipients will be awarded a \$1,000 incentive and commemorative plaque. The funds can be used for education or research expenses consistent with NIH rules. These awards are named to honor Dr. Butel's and Dr. Lanford's many scientific contributions that have laid the foundation for current HIV research.

The Janet Butel, PhD. HIV Research Trainee Award will be awarded to a Medical Student, Graduate Student or Postdoctoral Fellow who has made an especially impactful contribution to HIV research. Nominations are requested for trainees in any area of HIV research (e.g., basic, clinical, epidemiological, behavioral, implementation research) who are at BCM, UT Health Science Center Houston, or Texas Biomedical Research Institute.

The Robert Lanford, PhD Research Early-Stage Investigator Award will be awarded to an Early-Stage Investigator who has made an especially impactful contribution to HIV Research. Nominations are requested for Early-Stage Investigators in any area of HIV research who are at BCM, UT Health Science Center Houston, or Texas Biomedical Research Institute. Early-stage investigators are defined here: <a href="https://grants.nih.gov/policy/early-stage/index.htm">https://grants.nih.gov/policy/early-stage/index.htm</a>.



## Dr. Janet Butel

Dr. Butel is recognized for fundamental research on the biology of DNA tumor viruses, their oncogenic mechanisms, and their roles in the infectious etiology of cancer. Dr. Butel received her PhD degree at Baylor College of Medicine and stayed at Baylor for her entire career where she rose through the ranks and became Chair of the Department of Molecular Virology and Microbiology from 1989-2016. She served as the founding Director of the Baylor-UTHouston Center for AIDS Research from 1994- 2015. Dr. Butel has over 300 scientific publications. Mayor Sylvester Turner of Houston declared January 6, 2017 "Dr. Janet Butel Day" as part of a symposium in her honor. Dr. Butel is currently Professor Emeritus at Baylor.



## Dr. Robert Lanford

Dr. Lanford is recognized for fundamental research on hepatitis viruses, especially viral-host interactions and innate immune responses that influence disease progression. Dr. Lanford received his PhD degree from Baylor College of Medicine and was an Assistant Professor at Baylor from 1982-1984. He then moved to Texas Biomedical Research Institute in San Antonio, where he eventually become Director of the Southwest National Primate Research Institute at Texas Biomed. Dr. Lanford has over 150 scientific publications. A landmark joint publication by Drs. Butel and Lanford in Cell in 1984 reported the first identification of a nuclear localization signal

in a protein (SV40 T antigen). Dr. Lanford is currently Professor Emeritus at Texas Biomedical Research Institute.

## The deadline for 2022 nominations is October 31, 2022.

Nominations from Texas D-CFAR members who are mentors of the nominees should consist of: 1) A nomination letter not to exceed 3 pages that includes a description of the significance of the nominee's contribution to HIV research and their potential for a career in HIV research. 2) A copy of the nominee's current CV.

Nominees and nominators must be members of the Texas D-CFAR If you are not a D-CFAR member yet, JOIN by filling out this <u>form</u>.

Nominations should be submitted to Dr. Carmen Avalos: Carmen.Avalos@bcm.edu