Department of Neurology

Movement Disorders Fellowship Alumni


The Movement Disorders Fellowship accepted the first fellow in 1985 and was initially approved as a two-year fellowship by the Texas State Board of Medical Examiners in 1998 and was re-certified most recently for another five-year term in 2017.

Since 1985, 75 movement disorder fellows completed their training at in the Baylor College of Medicine Movement Disorders Fellowship. In addition, hundreds of other physicians and allied health care professionals from all over the world have trained at the Parkinson's Disease Center and Movement Disorders Clinic.

  • Based on the most recent survey, conducted in 2017, 87 percent of fellows who completed their training at the PDCMDC are currently on faculties of academic institutions and the remainder are in private practice (9 percent) or are working for pharmaceutical companies (4 percent).
  • Many alumni of the Baylor MDFTP have become highly regarded leaders in the field of movement disorders, directors of clinical and research programs or chairs of departments in four different continents.

Notable Alumni

Some of our most prominent alumni include:

  • William Ondo, M.D. (USA)
    Current Position: Director of the Movement Disorders Clinic at the Methodist Neuroscience Center, Houston and Professor of Neurology at Weill Cornell Medical School
  • Francisco Cardoso, M.D. (Brazil)
    Current Position: Professor of Neurology at the Medical School of the Federal University of Minas Gerais in Belo Horizonte, Brazil
  • Joachim Krauss, M.D. (Germany)
    Current Position: Professor of Neurosurgery, Chairman and Director Department of Neurosurgery, Medical School Hannover, Hannover, Germany
  • Eng-King Tan, M.D. (Singapore)
    Current Position: Senior Consultant Neurologist & Research Director, National Neuroscience Institute Professor, Duke NUS Medical School, Professor, National University of Singapore Professor, Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine Department of Neurology, National Neuroscience Institute
  • Mark Stacy, M.D. (USA)
    Current Position: Dean of Brody School of Medicine, East Carolina University
  • Charulata Sankhla Savant M.D. (India)
    Current Position: Consultant Neurophysician, P D Hinduja National Hospital and Medical Research Center, Mumbai, India; Diplomat of Neurology; and President of Movement Disorders Society of India