PEAR Award Recipients


The PEAR, Professional Educator Appreciation and Recognition, Awards are a student-led initiative to recognize those individuals who have had a significant impact on students during their medical training. The award seeks to highlight and reinforce positive examples of professionalism and teaching; it focuses on collecting the positive stories from the student experience.

Any Baylor College of Medicine student can nominate preclinical faculty, attending physicians, residents, physician assistants, nurses and others on the medical team who have challenged them, expanded their knowledge or imparted a significant lesson. Submissions are shared with the award recipient and his or her department chair. Students can submit nominations online.

PEAR Awards are supported by the Center for Professionalism, led by Dr. Ellen Friedman.


2023 Recipients

  • Lauren Tamara Wilson
  • Dr. Hayden Hall
  • Eric Silberfein
  • Dr. Robert Taylor Ripley
  • Jenifer Dinis Ballestas
  • Roberto Mario Vera
  • Dr. Samuel Randall

Past Recipients