Baylor College of Medicine

Surgery Department Members Awarded at Annual Datathon


Members of the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery won awards at Baylor College of Medicine's annual Datathon event. Dr. Christopher Ryan, general surgery resident, and teammates Dr. Subhasis Chatterjee, assistant professor of surgery, Dr. Ravi K. Ghanta, associate professor of surgery,  and Dr. Todd K. Rosengart, professor and chair of surgery, won the Most Clinically Innovative Award for their project titled, "Development of an Early Warning System to Reduce the Risk of Acute Kidney Injury after Cardiac Surgery."

Dr. Raymon Grogan, associate professor and chief of endocrine surgery, and colleague Dr. Fanny Moron, professor of radiology, won the Most Innovative Use of BCM Data Award for their proposal titled, “Designing Novel Transoral Thyroidectomy Instruments Based on an Artificial Intelligence Algorithm Trained to Measure Population Level Variation in Neck Anatomy." 

The purpose of Baylor’s annual Datathon event is to raise awareness about new data sources available from the BCM Data Warehouse that can be used for research or quality improvement projects.   

Back to topback-to-top