Department of Pathology & Immunology

2022 Annual Pathology and Immunology Trainee Research Symposium

Media Component
Dr. Sridevi Devaraj, Dr. Maria Elena Bottazzi and Dr. Jun Teruya stand in front of an auditorium. Dr. Bottazzi is holding a plaque.
From left, Dr. Sridevi Devaraj, Dr. Maria Elena Bottazzi, and Dr. Jun Teruya.

The keynote speaker, Maria Elena Bottazzi, Ph.D., FASTMH, associate dean, National School of Tropical Medicine, and co-director, Texas Children’s Hospital Center for Vaccine Development, gave an inspirational talk and was recognized at the event for her lifelong contributions to developing vaccines for infectious diseases including COVID-19.

Members of the faculty, Drs. Peyman Dinarvand, Amir Navaei and William Decker presented their work.  

Trainees from basic sciences and clinical residents and fellows presented their work at the symposium. Trainees received awards for the best oral and poster presentation of their research work. In addition, two medical students – Brandon Taylor and Maria Chen – were recognized at the symposium with the Stuart A. Wallace awards given by the Chair, Dr. Martin M. Matzuk.


Trainee Research Committee


Drs. Thomas A. Cooper, Choladda V. Curry, William Decker, Sridevi Devaraj, Sagar Dhamne, Martin M. Matzuk, Angshumoy Roy, Jun Teruya, Neda Zarrin-Khameh, Chief Residents (Drs. Hummel and Siatecka), Associate Chief Residents (Drs. Gustafson and Levett). 

Special note of appreciation to Yvetter Boney and Rosario Guzman for assistance with meeting planning and to Kristin Banaszak and Julian Gaton for meeting logistics.