Faculty Research Recognition


Baylor faculty lauded for outstanding achievements, extraordinary originality, leadership in their fields, and innovative research, as well as the advancement of human knowledge and the betterment of society include:


National Academies and Fellowship Organizations


American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the country’s oldest societies and independent policy research centers, recognizes exceptional scholars, leaders, artists and innovators and engages them in sharing knowledge and addressing challenges facing the world. View Baylor faculty who are members of the AAAS.

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Fellows of the AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society, nominate each fellow while the organization’s council, including its president, makes the final vote. AAAS includes nearly 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals with a goal of advancing science and serving society through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, public engagement and more. View a listing of the AAAS fellows.

Association of American Physicians

The Association of American Physicians is an honorific, elected society of America’s leading physician-scientists who exemplify the pinnacle of pioneering and enduring, impactful contributions to improve health. The association has more than 1,700 active members and approximately 600 emeritus and honorary members from the United States, Canada and other countries. View a listing of Baylor AAP members.

National Academy of Inventors

The NAI, founded in 2010, recognizes and encourages inventors with patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, enhances the visibility of academic technology and innovation, encourages the disclosure of intellectual property, educates and mentors innovative students, and translates the inventions of its members to benefit society. The academy has 4,000 individual inventor members and Fellows spanning more than 250 institutions worldwide. Membership with the NAI is available through local university and non-profit research institute chapters only. Dr. Martin Matzuk was elected in 2016, Dr. Lynn Zechiedrich was elected in 2017 and Drs. Mary K. EstesBert O’Malley and Huda Zoghbi were elected in 2018. Dr. Qizhi (Cathy) Yao and Dr. Mehdi Razavi were elected in 2019. Dr. Ananth Annapragada was elected in 2020.

National Academy of Medicine

The NAM has more than 2,000 members elected in recognition of professional achievement and commitment to volunteer service in activities of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (“the National Academies”). The NAM elects no more than 70 regular members and 10 international members annually. For those at the top of their field, NAM membership reflects the height of professional achievement and commitment to service. View a listing of the Baylor NAM members.

National Academy of Sciences

Members are elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive. Although many names are suggested informally, only academy members may submit formal nominations. Currently, a maximum of 84 members may be elected annually. View a listing of Baylor NAS members.


Research Scholars Programs


Howard Hughes Medical Institute

The HHMI Investigator Program supports nearly 300 investigators, located at more than 60 research institutions across the United States, who are widely known for their scientific discoveries, their innovation and their success in pushing the bounds of knowledge in biomedical research. View a listing of Baylor HHMI investigators.

McNair Scholars

The McNair Medical Institute at Baylor College of Medicine, established in 2007, recruits talented scientists and physician-scientists from around the world to the Texas Medical Center. These McNair Scholars pursue collaborative and transformational research in the areas of breast and pancreatic cancer, juvenile diabetes and the neurosciences.

Caroline Wiess Law Scholars

Since 2009, the Caroline Wiess Law Scholar award has facilitated the recruitment and retention of young physician-scientists who have the potential to translate scientific discoveries into effective clinical applications.


Baylor Research Awards


DeBakey Excellence in Research Awards

The DeBakey Excellence in Research Awards are given on an annual basis in recognition of Baylor College of Medicine faculty who have made the most significant published scientific contribution to clinical or basic biomedical research during the past three years.