About Us

BCM Ventures Leadership and Team


Our Leaders


Item Term
Shawn Davis

Item Definition

Vice President & Chief Ventures Officer


Item Term
Michael Dilling, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Executive Director, Baylor Licensing


Item Term
Colleen Zboray, M. Sc.

Item Definition

Executive Director, Program Development & Strategic Operations


Item Term
Jyoti Patel, M.B.A.

Item Definition

Business Lead, Marketing, Communications & Education Strategy


Our Team


Nayla Benyamine
Business Lead, Strategic Initiatives & Development

Brenda Kissack
Senior Financial Analyst

Jessica Phillips
Office Manager/Project Coordinator

Fauzia Chaudhary, Ph.D.
Senior Licensing Associate
Departments/Centers: Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center, Molecular & Cellular Biology, Neurology, Neurosurgery, Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery

Mercy Chen, Ph.D.
Senior Commercialization Associate, IP Federal and State Reporting and Compliance

Valerie Jordan, Ph.D.
Senior Sponsored Programs Analyst, Academic and Sponsor Agreements

Brad Kairdolf, Ph.D.
Senior Licensing Associate
Departments/Centers: Center for Drug Discovery, Dermatology, Family & Community Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Pediatrics, Pharmacology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Masters in Orthotics and Prosthetics Program

Dylan Laug, Ph.D.
Senior Licensing Associate
Departments/Centers: Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Center for Cell & Gene Therapy, Center for Comparative Medicine, Center for Educational Outreach, Center for Medical Ethics & Health Policy, Center for Reproductive Medicine, Huffington Center on Aging, Molecular Virology & Microbiology

Terese Rakow, Ph.D.
Senior Licensing Manager
Departments/Centers: Molecular & Human Genetics, Molecular Physiology & Biophysics, Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology


Institutional Advisory Board for Commercialization


BCM Ventures has established an Institutional Advisory Board for Commercialization (IABC) to support BCMV in enabling a robust environment for innovation and commercialization at the College. The board is comprised of Baylor faculty with an experienced background in commercialization and entrepreneurship at Baylor.


Joseph Petrosino, Ph.D.

Item Definition

IABC Chair
Chair and Professor, Molecular Virology & Microbiology
Director, Alkek Center for Metagenomics and Microbiome Research 

Eric M. Rohren, M.D., Ph.D.

Item Definition

IABC Co-Chair
Chair and Professor, Radiology
Interim Chair, Radiology-Oncology

Malcolm Brenner, M.D., Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor, Center for Cell & Gene Therapy, Molecular & Human Genetics, Pediatrics, Medicine, Translational Biology & Molecular Medicine

Maria Elena Bottazzi, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Associate Dean, National School of Tropical Medicine
Professor, Pediatrics – Tropical Medicine, Molecular Virology & Microbiology

Todd Rosengart, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Item Definition

Professor and Chair, Department of Surgery

Trey Westbrook, Ph.D.

Item Definition

Professor, Molecular & Human Genetics, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Director, Therapeutic Innovation Center (THINC)