Department of Pathology & Immunology


About Us


For over 75 years, the Department of Pathology & Immunology has enjoyed a national and international reputation of setting standards for the highest quality in clinical practice, research, and education of residents, fellows, medical students, graduate students, and undergraduate students. Since 1943, when Dr. Stuart A. Wallace, the first chair of the Department of Pathology, moved to Houston from Dallas, the department has provided clinical and anatomic pathology services to institutions within the Texas Medical Center and many community health care centers in Texas.