Baylor College of Medicine

Excellence in education honored at Baylor

Excellence in education honored at Baylor

Dana Benson


Houston, TX -

Baylor College of Medicine’s top educational leaders were honored at Faculty Awards Day, Thursday, May 16.

Presidential Awards

Established in 1999, the Barbra and Corbin J. Robertson Jr. Presidential Award for Excellence in Education recognizes faculty members who have long-standing, consistent and highly valued contributions to the educational mission of the College. Recipients become members of the Baylor Society of Presidential Educators and receive a crystal award and $10,000.

The 2019 recipients of the Robertson Presidential Award were Glenn Levine, M.D., professor of medicine – cardiology, and Barbara Trautner, M.D., Ph.D, professor of medicine and of surgery and director of clinical research for the Department of Surgery.

McGovern Awards

The John P. McGovern Outstanding Teaching Award established in 1986 and are determined by second-, third- and fourth-year medical students and based on outstanding teaching of preclinical, or foundational, and clinical medical school curriculum. The nominees are approved by the Faculty Awards Committee.

The 2019 recipients of the McGovern Teaching Awards are Dr. Ming Xiaoming Zhang, professor and director of anatomical sciences, for preclinical teaching and Dr. Roberto Vera for clinical teaching, assistant professor of surgery and director of the undergraduate and graduate medical education simulation programs.

Clarke Faculty Service Award

Established in 2017, the award honors faculty members whose exemplary service with professionalism has not previously been recognized through an official award by the College. Recipients represent their professions and Baylor’s mission, vision and values at the highest level and have made significant, enduring contributions to the College.

Recipients for 2019 were Joanna Jankowsky, Ph.D., professor of neuroscience and of molecular and cellular Biology, neurology, and neurosurgery; Mary Majumder, J.D., Ph.D., associate professor, Center for Medical Ethics and Health Policy; George Mandy, M.D., associate professor pediatrics – neonatology; Debra Murray, Ph.D., instructor, Human Genome Sequencing Center; and Adriana Strutt, Ph.D., associate professor of neurology and of psychiatry and behavioral sciences.

Norton Rose Fulbright Faculty Excellence Awards

The Norton Rose Fulbright Faculty Excellence Awards provide an opportunity for Baylor faculty who meet designated standards of quality, quantity and breadth to receive recognition for their sustained exemplary educational contributions across all areas of the College. They were presented this year in four categories: teaching and evaluation, educational leadership, educational research, and development of enduring educational materials.

See the full list of Norton Rose Fulbright winners.

Baylor also recognized its leaders in clinical excellence. Read more about these award winner, and see a photo gallery online of all the award recipients.

Back to topback-to-top