John P. McGovern Outstanding Teacher Award


The John P. McGovern Outstanding Teacher Award recognizes faculty for outstanding teaching in the medical school curriculum. Established in 1986, the McGovern Award is given to two faculty members each year – one for pre-clerkship teaching and one for clinical teaching.

Each spring, second-, third- and fourth-year medical students vote for faculty members who have been outstanding teachers in the pre-clerkship and clinical curriculum. The names of the nominees are forwarded to the Faculty Awards Committee for approval.

Awardees receive a cash honorarium and a plaque.