Presidential Award for Excellence in Education


About the Award


Honoring Stellar and Enduring Faculty Contributions to the College's Mission in Education

"The Barbara and Corbin J. Robertson, Jr. Presidential Award for Excellence in Education emphasizes Baylor's commitment to education and recognizes the excellence in educational contributions of our faculty. The faculty who are honored with this prestigious award have shaped the lives of students through innovative teaching methods and mentoring to prepare our trainees to adopt the mantle of leadership regardless of the career path they choose. They represent the educational efforts of our entire faculty who excel in achieving the goals of our educational mission."

Paul E. Klotman, M.D.
President, CEO and Executive Dean, Baylor College of Medicine

The Barbara and Corbin J. Robertson, Jr. Presidential Award for Excellence in Education is Baylor’s most prestigious, College-wide, competitive award for faculty educational service. Active faculty members who have made stellar and enduring contributions to the educational mission of the College may be considered for nomination.

Continuous updating of the criteria and processes enhances the sustaining value of this award as we educate the next generation for medical research, education and care. The criteria and processes ensure that the selection of these awardees applies to the broad scope of education at Baylor, involves the entire leadership and recognizes education that transcends current techniques and topics. Individuals making nominations submit supporting materials, which are reviewed by a Selection Committee, on behalf of the nominee. This website contains details of eligibility, required components of nomination letters and support materials, and nomination and selection process.


  • Dec. 9, 2024 - Deadline for receipt of nomination letter, Narrative Summary of Educator’s Contributions, and curriculum vitae
  • Feb. 6, 2025 - Notification of nominees selected as candidates for final review
  • Feb. 11, 2025 - Deadline for nominators/candidates to provide names for letters of recommendation
  • March 7, 2025 - Deadline for receipt of letters of recommendation
  • May 2025 - Awards presented at the Annual Faculty Awards Day

Presidential Award Information

To learn more about the application process, explore the following pages:

Past Awardees

Visit the following page to view the past awardees


Living Our Values


At Baylor College of Medicine, we strive to live our values every day.

Learn More



Congratulations to the 2024 Barbara and Corbin J. Robertson, Jr. Presidential Award for Excellence in Education award recipients: Sandra Haudek, Ph.D., M.S. and Daryl Scott, M.D., Ph.D. 

Read More