Presidential Award for Excellence Recipients


Two outstanding faculty members were honored with the 2022 Barbara and Corbin J. Robertson, Jr. Presidential Award for Excellence in Education.


William Huang, M.D.

Media Component
William Huang

Associate Professor and Vice Chair of Education, Department of Family and Community Medicine

Dr. William Huang joined the Baylor College of Medicine faculty in the late 1980s. His interest in teaching began when he precepted Baylor Family and Community Medicine Clerkship students at his clinical site. With the support of colleagues, mentors and leaders, he has continued to grow in his role as a teacher and educator at Baylor.

After completing Baylor’s Master Teacher Fellowship in 1997, Dr. Huang joined the Family and Community Medicine Clerkship team, eventually becoming director of clerkship in 2002. In this position, Dr. Huang leads a group of employed and volunteer faculty of the Department of Family and Community Medicine who precept students in their offices and provide them an opportunity to learn ambulatory care. He serves on the sub-internship/clerkship directors subcommittee where he works with other leaders and course directors to plan improvements in Baylor’s clinical curriculum. 

As Dr. Huang was caring for his own patients, he developed an interest in helping students learn how to care for patients from underserved backgrounds. In 2004, he was selected to be first director of the Care of the Underserved medical school track (now pathway), which provides a longitudinal curriculum in underserved care. Dr. Huang, along with faculty from other departments, developed the different courses in the Care of the Underserved track. Although he is no longer director, he was gratified that the track gave students the opportunity to demonstrate their sincere concern for patients from underserved communities and develop projects to address their needs.

In addition to working with medical students, Dr. Huang enjoys precepting family medicine residents in both ambulatory and hospital settings. He also seeks to help faculty grow as teachers, both in formal workshops and informal discussions.

Dr. Huang has joined other faculty to analyze educational data, give national presentations and contribute articles to medical education literature in many areas.

He has been honored with Fulbright & Jaworski/Norton Rose Fulbright awards in Teaching and Evaluation, Educational Leadership and Educational Research, the Leonard D. Moise Teaching Award from the Baylor College of Medicine Family Medicine Residency Program and an Exemplary Teaching Award from the Texas Academy of Family Physicians. 


Gordon Schutze, M.D.

Media Component
Gordon Schutze

Professor of Pediatrics, Vice Dean, School of Medicine

Dr. Gordon Schutze did not realize he was going to be an educator. However, the first time he worked with a young learner and saw the light click on in their eyes, he was hooked. The ability to help someone grasp a concept or understand a disease process is what has driven his academic career.  

After completing a pediatric residency and pediatric infectious diseases fellowship at Baylor College of Medicine/Texas Children’s Hospital, he joined the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences/Arkansas Children’s Hospital in 1991. During his 15 years there he ran the general pediatric residency and started a pediatric infectious diseases fellowship, earning the Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.

In 2006, Dr. Schutze returned to Baylor College of Medicine to work with the Baylor International Pediatric AIDS Initiative at Texas Children’s Hospital. His main responsibility was training the Pediatric AIDS Corps physicians who were being placed in clinics in Africa as well as training other practitioners around the globe. In 2009, he became the vice chair of education in the Department of Pediatrics where he worked with other leaders to establish a four-year pediatric residency program that included the traditional three years of categorical pediatric training and one year abroad working at an HIV/AIDS clinic site.

Dr. Schutze has served on the pediatric residency recruitment committee since 2009 and has been on the medical school admissions committee since 2012. He has been recognized with a Fulbright and Jaworski L.L.P. Faculty Excellence Award for Educational Leadership and two Norton, Rose, Fulbright Faculty Excellence Awards for Enduring Material and Educational Leadership. He was admitted into the Baylor College of Medicine Academy of Distinguished Educators in 2011.

At a national level, Dr. Schutze has held multiple positions at the American Academy of Pediatrics, including working on the editorial board of the Pediatrics Review and Educational Program (PREP) Self-Assessment Program and serving as the founding editor of the PREP Infectious Diseases Self-Assessment program. He also served as the associate editor of Pediatrics, the official journal of the AAP. Dr. Schutze was an editor for the 23rd edition of Rudolph’s Pediatrics Textbook and has served on the infectious diseases sub-board of the American Academy of Pediatrics.