Department of Neurosurgery

Neurological Surgery Residency Lectureships


Our residency program is enriched by didactic teaching from the program’s distinguished faculty at Baylor College of Medicine and MD Anderson Cancer Center. In addition, the department frequently hosts visiting neurosurgeon from other prominent programs in the United States and around the world. The department has five distinct annual endowed visiting professorships that enhance our program, which include the following:


George Ehni Lecture


This annual multi-day workshop has been taking place over 20 years, and honors the late Dr. George Ehni, a leading neurosurgical pioneer and scholar who founded the Baylor College of Medicine neurosurgery residency program and led it for over two decades. This visiting professorship combines a series of lectures with a hands-on workshop with microsurgical cadaver dissections in the Baylor anatomy lab. Ehni Lecturers have included:

  • Duke Samson, M.D., Professor Emeritus, Department of Neurosurgery, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
  • Theodore Schwartz, M.D., David and Ursel Barnes, Professor of Minimally Invasive Neurosurgery, Weill Cornell Medical College
  • Harry Van Loveren, M.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Neurosurgery, University of South Florida College of Medicine
  • Evandro de Oliveira, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Neurosurgery, State University of Campinas
  • Thomas P. Naidich, M.D., F.A.C.R., Director of Neuroradiology, Vice-Chair of Radiology for Academic Affairs, Professor of Radiology and Neurosurgery, Irving and Dorothy Regenstreif Research Professor of Neuroscience, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
  • Ugur Ture, M.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Neurosurgery, Yeditepe University School of Medicine
  • Robert J. Spinner, Burton M. Onofrio, M.D., Professor of Neurosurgery, Orthopedics and Anatomy, Mayo Clinic of Rochester
  • Ricardo Hanel, M.D., Ph.D., Director of the Cerebrovascular and Stroke Program, Baptist Health System of Jacksonville
  • Albert E. Telfeian, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Director of the Center for Minimally Invasive Endoscopic Spine Surgery, Brown University

Philip Gildenberg Lecture


Named to honor Dr. Philip Gildenberg, a pioneering leader in stereotactic and functional neurosurgery, past president of the World Society of Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery, and emeritus clinical professor of neurosurgery at Baylor College of Medicine, this lecture annually hosts a leader in the field of functional and stereotactic neurosurgery. Gildenberg lecturers have included:

  • Andres Lozano, M.D., Ph.D., Dan Family Chair in Neurosurgery, Ron Tasker Chair in Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery, University of Toronto
  • Alim-Louis Benabid, M.D., Ph.D., Emeritus Professor of Neurosurgery, Institut Universitaire de France
  • Kim Burchiel, M.D., F.A.C.S., John Raaf Professor and Chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery, Oregon Health and Science University
  • David W. Roberts, M.D., Section Chief of Neurosurgery, Professor of Surgery, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
  • G. Rees Cosgrove, M.D., F.R.C.S.C., Professor of Neurosurgery, Warren Alpert School of Medicine at Brown University
  • Tipu Z. Aziz, Ph.D., F.Med.Sci., Professor of Neurosurgery, University of Oxford
  • Philip A. Starr, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Neurosurgery, Dolores Cakebread Chair in Neurosurgery, University of California- San Francisco
  • Edward F. Chang, M.D., Associate Professor in Residence of Neurological Surgery and Physiology, Co-Director, Center for Neural Engineering at UC Berkeley and San Francisco, University of California San Francisco School of Medicine
  • Aviva Abosch, M.D., Ph.D., Professor, University of Colorado
  • Andre Machado, M.D., Ph.D.

Milam Leavens Lecture


The Leavens Lecture honors Dr. Milam Leavens, the founding chief of Neurosurgery at MD Anderson Cancer Center and a mentor to generations of Baylor College of Medicine neurosurgery residents. This lecture features a distinguished leader in neurosurgical-oncology. Leavens Lecturers have included:

  • Edward Oldfield, M.D., Professor of Neurosurgery and Internal Medicine, Director of Neuro-Endocrinology, University of Virginia School of Medicine
  • David G. Kline, M.D., Boyd Professor of Neurosurgery, Professor and Department Chair Emeritus, Louisiana State University University Health and Science Center of New Orleans School of Medicine
  • Mitchel Berger, M.D., F.A.C.S., F.A.A.N.S., Berthold and Belle N. Guggenhime Professor, Chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery School of Medicine, Director of the Brain Tumor Research Center, University of California at San Francisco
  • Manfred Westphal, M.D., Professor, Director of Neurosurgery, University Clinic Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE)
  • Henry Brem, M.D., Harvey Cushing Professor, Director, Department of Neurosurgery, Professor of Neurosurgery, Oncology, Ophthalmology, and Biomedical Engineering, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Nicholson Lecture in Surgical Neuroanatomy and Research


MD Anderson Cancer Center and Baylor College of Medicine join together annually for the Nicholson Lecture in Surgical Neuroanatomy and Research. This two-day lecture and workshop combines a series of lectures on specific microsurgical techniques, as well as hands-on activities in the Microsurgical and Endoscopic Center for Clinical Applications Laboratory. Nicholson Lecturers have included:

  • Albert L. Rhoton, M.D., Professor and Chair Emeritus, Department of Neurological Surgery, University of Florida at Gainesville
  • Jon H. Robertson, M.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Neurosurgery, University of Tennessee
  • William T. Couldwell, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Joseph J. Yager Chair, Department of Neurosurgery, University of Utah
  • Daniel Prevedello, M.D., Associate Professor, Department of Neurosurgery, Director, Minimally Invasive Cranial Surgery Program, Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
  • Carl B. Heilman, M.D., Neurosurgeon-in-Chief, Chair of Neurosurgery, Professor, Tufts University School of Medicine

Raymond Sawaya Lecture


This lecture is honoring Dr. Raymond Sawaya and his 10 years of service as Department of Neurosurgery chair at Baylor College of Medicine. Following his tenure in 2015, the Raymond Sawaya Inaugural Lectureship was instituted, hosting distinguished alumnist, Dr. Ziya Gokaslan, as the honored guest speaker.

  • Ziya Gokaslan, M.D., Donlin M. Long Professor of Neurosurgery, Johns Hopkins University, Distinguished Alumnus of the Baylor Neurosurgery Residency Program, Class of ‘93
  • Jacques J. Morcos, M.D., F.R.C.S., F.A.A.N.S., Professor of Clinical Neurosurgery and Otolaryngology Director, Cerebrovascular Surgery Director, Skull Base, Pituitary and Endoscopic Tumor Surgery Director, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
  • Anil Nanda, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.S., Professor and Chair, Department of Neurosurgery, LSU Health Sciences Center at Shreveport