Weather Update

BCM Family Medicine on Kirby is without electrical power. Patients with appointments on Tuesday at this location will be moved to Baylor Medicine on the McNair Campus:  7200 Cambridge St, 7th floor, Suite 7B. Patients will be contacted. For questions, call 713-798-7700.

Department of Surgery

Michael E. DeBakey Surgical Society




Dr. Michael E. DeBakey is internationally recognized as a pioneer of modern medicine. An ingenious medical inventor and innovator, a gifted and dedicated teacher, a premier surgeon, and an international medical statesman, this prolific surgeon and humanitarian performed more than 60,000 cardiovascular procedures and trained thousands of surgeons who practice around the world.

In 1976, a group of DeBakey’s trainees came together with the goal of founding an organization to honor Dr. DeBakey, provide a forum for international scientific exchange, recognize superior surgeons, and provide financial support for surgeons seeking postgraduate training at Baylor College of Medicine. The Michael E. DeBakey International Cardiovascular Surgical Society was founded Jan. 20, 1977, and subsequently was renamed the Michael E. DeBakey International Surgical Society. For more than 45 years, this organization has perpetuated Doctor DeBakey’s vision through education, training, and recognition. Society activities have included the DeBakey Surgical Award program, which recognizes outstanding surgeons who have made significant contributions in the field of surgery, and biennial meetings to provide the opportunity for education and international exchange of scientific advances and technology.

An award program biennially recognizes an outstanding surgeon for significant contributions in the field of surgery and a biennial meeting provides the opportunity for education and international exchange of scientific advances and technology.

Learn more about the legacy of Dr. Michael E. DeBakey

Michael E. DeBakey Surgical Society Alumni Symposium


We are pleased to announce that the Michael E. DeBakey Surgical Society Alumni Symposium will be held on Friday and Saturday, June 9-10, 2023, at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas.

Find out more

DeBakey Surgical Award


Each biennial meeting year since 1978, the Awards Committee of the Michael E. DeBakey Surgical Society has selected a surgeon to receive the DeBakey Surgical Award.

Find out more

Advisory Committee


Scott A. LeMaire, M.D. - Chairman

Todd K. Rosengart, M.D. - ex officio

Holly Shilstone - Director, Advancement and Alumni Affairs

Bruce Applebaum, M.D.
Francis P. Buckley, III, M.D.
Chris Cribari, M.D.
David Meagher, Jr, M.D.
Eric J. Silberfein, M.D.
John Aucar, M.D.
James E. Harrell, Jr., M.D.
Fareed Khouqeer, M.D.
Kenneth L. Mattox, M.D.
Charles McCollum, M.D.
Ronney Stadler, M.D.
Matthew J. Wall, Jr., M.D.
Alison Wilson, M.D.


Past Presidents


2020: Matthew J. Wall, Jr., M.D.
2018: Alison Wilson, M.D.
2016: Ernesto Soltero, M.D.
2014: Ernesto Soltero, M.D.
2012: Robert Salem, M.D.
2010: Joseph Coselli, M.D.
2008: Alton Brown, M.D.
2006: Renat Akchurin, M.D.
2004: Roger Gregory, M.D.
2002: George Noon, M.D.
2000: F. William Blaisdell, M.D.
1998: Americo D. da Gama, M.D.
1996: Victor Bernhard, M.D.
1994: Wolf J. Stelter, M.D.
1992: Charles H. McCollum, M.D.
1990: H. Edward Garrett, M.D.
1988: E. Stanley Crawford, M.D.
1986: Donald G. Macleish, M.D.
1984: Alain Sisteron, M.D.
1982: Patricio Welsh, M.D.
1980: Youssif Al-Naaman, M.D.
1978: Arthur C. Beall, Jr., M.D.
1976: Panayotis E. Balas, M.D.