2019 DeBakey Award Recipients

Media Component
Dr. Robert Britton, Dr. Marco Sardiello, Dr. Adam Kuspa, Dr. Christie Ballantyne, Dr. Carl Allen and Dr. Aleksandar Milosavljevic stand in front of a photo of Dr. Michael E. DeBakey.

Carl Allen, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Hematology/Oncology | Co-Director of TXCH Histiocytosis and Lymphoma Programs | Director of Research, Global HOPE | Member, Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center

Christie M. Ballantyne, M.D.
Vice Chair of Research, Department of Medicine | Chief, Section of Cardiology | Chief, Section of Cardiovascular Research | J.S. Abercrombie Chair; Professor of Medicine

Robert A. Britton, Ph.D.
Therapeutic Microbiology Laboratory | Professor of Molecular Virology and Microbiology | Alkek Center for Metagenomics and Microbiome Research | Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center

Aleksandar Milosavljevic, Ph.D.
Professor of Molecular and Human Genetics | Director of Program in Quantitative and Computational Biosciences

Marco Sardiello, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Molecular and Human Genetics


Legacy of Excellence


Learn more about the father of modern cardiovascular surgery and medicine.