Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences News and Events


Department News


Item Term
2024-2025 Chief Residents Announced

Item Definition

Congratulations to the 2024-2025 Chief Residents:

  • Jacqueline Fenn, M.D. - Administrative Chief Resident
  • Vivian Wang, M.D. - Administrative Chief Resident
  • Laura Kenyon, M.D.- Education Chief Resident
  • Ahmed Ahmed, M.D. - Research Chief Resident
  • Ziba Colah, M.D. - Wellness Chief Resident

CAP Fellow Chief Residents:

  • Grace Vallejo, M.D. -Administrative Chief Resident
  • Nusrat Uddin, D.O. - Wellness Chief Resident
  • Bekir Artukoglu, M.D. - Psychotherapy Chief Resident

Dr. Mathew Appointed President of the ADAA

Item Definition

Dr. Sanjay Mathew, has been appointed to serve as President of the Anxiety and Depression Association of America. Previously he has served as President-Elect and Chief Medical Officer. 

Dr. Patriquin Appointed to the Board of the ADAA

Item Definition

Dr. Michelle Patriquin has recently been appointed to serve on the Board of Directors of the Anxiety and Depression Association of America.  

Dr. Zoghbi Receives $5 Million Donation from The Valour Foundation

Item Definition

Dr. Anthony Zoghbi received a $5 million dollar donation from The Valour Foundation. This donation will go toward aiding Dr. Anthony Zoghbi and his lab in cognitive impairment research.

Laurel Williams receives a $4 million SAMHSA Award for The Next Day Project

Item Definition

Congratulations to Dr. Laurel Williams for receiving a $4 million SAMHSA Award for The Next Day Project. This project involves Drs. Eric Storch, Kirti Saxena and Karin Price working together with our partners at Texas Children’s Hospital to help address suicidality in youth in the Houston area.

Dr. Shah receives $5 million donation from the Valour Foundation

Item Definition

Dr. Asim Shah was recently gifted a $5 million donation from The Valour Foundation. This donation will go towards adding a new unit at Ben Taub and other projects that will significantly benefit the Houston area. 

Dr. Pershern appointed to the AADPRT executive council

Item Definition

Dr. Lindsey Pershern was recently appointed to serve as Membership Committee Chair on the Executive Council for the American Association of Directors of Psychiatry Residency Training (AADPRT).


Item Term
Dr. Lomax appointed to Board of Trustees

Item Definition

Dr. James Lomax has been appointed to the Baylor College of Medicine Board of Trustees. Dr. Lomax will serve as an ex officio member, representing the College’s Alumni Association. 

Dr. Averill named co-director of ELIPSIS

Item Definition

Dr. Lynnette Astrid Averill, has recently been named as the co-director of the ELIPSIS program. The Ethical Legal Implications of Psychedelics in Society (ELIPSIS) program was founded by the Center for Medical Ethics and Health at Baylor College of Medicine, focusing on ethical and policy issues related to psychedelic research.  

Dr. Saunders receives Norton Fulbright Educational Grant

Item Definition

Dr. John James Saunders received the Norton Rose Fulbright Educational Grant Fund for the grant proposal “Community Collaboration for Creation of Mental Health Curriculum to Decrease Mental Health Stigma". 

Back to topback-to-top